::here i go again

31 10 2006

So Monday I got home just seconds before Zachary got home from school, and he comes walking up to me wearing his headphones and listening to the radio. I have a portable mp3 player for him, but I just haven’t gotten around to putting anything on it.

Anyway, he took off the headphones as he approached me and held them out. “Jim, do you know this song?” He asks with his hand outstretched.

I took the headphones and listened for a few seconds.

Familiar.

Older.

Cheesy.

Guitar solos.

Big hair.

“…and here i go again on my own

goin’ down the only road i’ve ever known

like a drifter i was born to walk alone, wooah.

“That’s a really good song, jim. Do you know what it is?”

“Yeah, man. I know who it is.” I say.

He looks at me expectantly.

“The song is called Here I Go Again, and it is by a band called Whitesnake.” He perks his eyes up a little. He knows there’s more on my lips, just waiting to come out. “That song,” I say in a last ditch effort, “is pretty old. Probably from about 1987 or ’88. I used to have the cassette of this album.”

“Cassette?” Zachary said to me, a little confused.  I could tell that he had only a hazy recollection of what a cassette really is. 

I nod.

“hmmm.  I guess great music is timeless.  That was Whitesnake, you say?”

kisses,

jimbo

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

