::callous

3 04 2005

It is Sunday morning and I’m sitting in the living room reading the news on my laptop. The family is all up, preschool cartoons are playing on TV, and coffee is being sipped and breakfast eaten.Pretty normal Sunday, all in all. The most monumental thing I’ve had to overcome so far is that we have sprung forward today.I subscribe to a few comics on my My Yahoo! page, among them Ted Rall. If you’re not familiar with him, he writes these incredibly funny and usually inflammatory political cartoons. He is far to the left, and I love the fucker. He pulls no punches and tells it exactly like it is. When I read him, I often hear Robert DeNiro in The Untouchables saying “We laugh because it’s funny and we laugh because it’s true.”

I was a little disappointed as I read this morning’s edition. He’s been spending a little too much time on the whole torture thing. Kind of doing it to death, if you will.

Then I realized exactly how absurd that thought sounded as it rang off in my head. How sad and terrible it is that the subject of torture has become ordinary, even banal.

What have we done to ourselves?

When we reach a point where political loudmouths on the Sunday loudmouth political shows talk about torture being a partisan political issue that one side exploits just to harm another, we should agree that damage has been done. When we talk about torture and feel that we can move on, when we acknowledge that it happened on our watch and may still be happening on our watch, that it could be happening right now, and it is okay to change the subject, some damage has been done.

So I like Ted Rall quite a bit. He doesn’t pull any punches and he is offensive as hell when he needs to make a point. And he sometimes spends a little too much time on the whole torture thing.

kisses,

jimbo

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

